Men - 24/6/2019

Last Saturday saw a smaller field contest the single stableford for a club trophy on what was a cooler day and the scores were somewhat down on previous weeks.
The winner on a four way countback was the previously out of form Michael Hoskin on 37 points.  Michael has not been in the best of form so far this year which is uncommon for him as he is one of the most consistent players in the club but he showed a welcome return to better form on Saturday. He defeated Kris McLennan, Eddy Raets and Matthew Tate who all recorded 37 points as well. Runner up Kris had a one under off the stick and Matty Tate had his best round in a while as well.
 Right on their heels was Sam Eaves on 36 points which represented a three under so there was certainly some good golf played on the day.
The run down ball winners were Eddy Raets, Matty Tate, Sam Eaves, Brendan Landrigan and Connor Cruice while pin shots went to Sam Eaves on the 5th and 16th while Michael Hoskin won on the 7th as well as the 11th Brendan Landrigan on 9. The pro pin on 13 saw Connor Cruice win 3 balls, Peter Farrell 2, and Caleb King, Michael Hoskin and Ted King win a ball each.
Good to see Connor and Sam playing the weekend competition and normal transmission resumed with Michael scoring a stack of balls on the day.
On Sunday members played in the annual State of Origin 2 person ambrose which was organized by Brendan Landrigan at short notice so Brendan and his team did well to attract well over 60 players on the day. The field comprised mostly of maroon supporters naturally but there were certainly plenty of blue supports as well and it was an omen to come as the blue supporters were to the fore in the trophy list.
The winning team comprised of Sean Haynes having his first competition as a full club member and former junior player James Buchner who between them managed a 60.75 winning score. The winning NSW supporter team was Slim Eldridge and Dave Duroux while the best QLD supporter team was Kris McLennan and Steve Klease.
Pin shot winners were Keith Farrell and Vonnie Pinington who managed a 2 on the 5th, Slim on the 7th, Sam and Geoff Hinze who put it in the hole for a 2 on the 9th and Geoff again on the 16th. The pro shot winners were Chris Hynes on the 13th narrowly from Garry Adcock and Sean Haynes and Sam McLennan. There were plenty of colourfully decorated buggies and a great day was had by all, particularly the blue supporters who carried that into the night. Terry Bennett is still on cloud 9 rejoicing in a rare win for his favourite team.

The chicken run last Friday saw 18 players tee off with  Jeremy Beyleveld winning the event with  21 points from Scott Streetton on 20 with Al Matthews, Bert Bownds and Greg Wallace winn a ball in the run down.  The pin on 5 went to Brett Donovan and on 7 to Al Matthews.

Next Saturday members play in a single stableford sponsored by the Oaktree Retirement Village and on Sunday the Redbacks 4 person ambrose is on with an 11.00am shotgun start.