Men - 3/12/2018

Warwick Men’s Golf Club notes


   Saturday 1stDecember we played the John Dee Monthly Medal for December. Thank you to John Dee for their continued sponsorship of our monthly medals. The winner of Division 1 was Mike Hoskin with 62nett with Mal Galloway the runner-up scoring 65. Division 2 was won by Alex McKinlay with 65nett. The runner-up was Neil Moore on 66. The ball rundown: Eamon Cockram 66, Shane Scotney 68, Ed Kemp 68, Matt Tate 68, Allan Matthews 68, Tony Kahler 68. Pins: 5th Sam McLennan, 7th Alex McKinlay, 9th Eamon Cockram, 11th Ray Dudley, 16th Neville Heard. Pro Pin: Tony Kahler 4 balls, Eamon Cockram 3 balls, Don Stewart 2 balls, Shane Scotney 1 ball, Rhys Farrell 1 ball, Mark Scully 1 ball.

   This Saturday 8th December we play a single stableford sponsored by The Malthouse. We thank The Malthouse for their generous and continued sponsorship. The following Saturday, 15th December, is a single stableford sponsored by our friends at the Horse and Jockey Hotel/Motel. We thank them for their monthly sponsorships. 

  Sunday 9th December the final of the 2018 Shootout will be played. This event is sponsored by Condamine Steel & Rural. Thanks to Peel and staff at Condamine Steel & Rural for their support of this event. Also thanks to Garry Adcock for his organization of this event. All finalist are asked to be at the Club by 8am for shirt presentations with a 8.30am tee off. Good luck to all.

  The following Sunday, 16th December we have the Medal of Medals final. The aim is to tee off at 11am with the finalists being: Eamon Cockram & Joe McIvor(January), Peter Farrell & Paul(Slim) Elderidge(February), Mark Thomas & Bert Bownds(March), Jay Roberts & Brendon Landrigan(April), Mike Hoskin & John Pearson(May), Shane Scotney & John Pearson(June), Mike Hoskin & Trevor King(July), Shane Scotney & Dave Craggs(August), Mark Thomas & John Brandon(September), Mike Hoskin & Brendon Landrigan(October), Rhys Farrell & Mark Scully(November), Mike Hoskin & Alex McKinlay. Good luck to all.

   The Warwick Golf Club AGM was held last Monday, 26th November with the following members being elected to your committee. President: Don Stewart, Vice President: Bob Lester, Treasurer: Trevor King, Captain: Tony Kahler, Ladies Representative: Liz Cockram, Committee: Keith Farrell, Terry Bennett, Mary Young, Brendon Landrigan, Kris McLennan. Congratulations to the new committee and thank you for your commitment for the coming year. Please support your incoming committee and if you have anything to discuss please feel free to approach any of the committee members.

   On Monday we have applied feedlot manure to selected fairways with the hope of some decent rainfall/watering to promote grass growth. These fairways will be classed as preferred lie fairways. Thanks for your understanding with this necessary course management.